Poetry Unit

English 1 is in a poetry unit.  Yesterday they had to write 3 five-minute metaphors.  I figured it was a good opportunity for myself to get to writing – but it’s really hard to meet the objectives of the assignment and help students at the same time.  I mean to publish this yesterday… but didn’t get around to it.  You know… work… swing dance class… those things just get in the way.

1.

The cold air is thousand needle sticks

driving through layers of clothes

when I leave my warm home

reminding me of the pessimism

I endure facing the mundane work day.

 

 

2.

Teaching is a leech

feeding on positive inhibitions

sucking morale out of the air for dessert.

 

 

3.

Clouds boil and bubble in the early morning sky

An eerie dance evoking darkness and fear

Leave a Reply

