Ummmm… Help?

The sun is staying out just a little bit later; drawn out just enough to change the appearance of the day like a curvy tail on the letter “y.”  But the cold hangs in the air like coat made of tiny teeth biting through your jeans.  As much as I’d like to walk in the sunlight, those tiny teeth are currently too much for me.  For the first time in nine days I have a little bit of energy.  Picked up a wonderful parasite called Strep.  He totally knocked me down and kicked me in the head.  Even after antibiotics, I still didn’t feel great.  Maybe he brought an unannounced friend along for the ride.

Speaking of unannounced… A group text went out from a friend saying, “I’m planning to give away some rings.  What is your ring size?”  I took a picture of the ring I wear (from my mom) and said, “This size.”  I really don’t know what size it is.  I never needed to.  But I got a response that said, “Take a picture of it next to a penny so I can try to guess.”

Does that seem off to anybody else?  You know that gut feeling?  It’s cloudy… so I should bring a jacket or an umbrella.  Tickle in throat… grrrr, I’m sick.  Person at work quits job… I had a feeling that was coming.  Those gut feelings?

I’m having one now.  That feeling.  If I’m right, then this is an awkward situation.  A guy I’m not currently in a relationship with… a guy I’ve never technically called boyfriend may be planning to ask me that big question that comes with a ring.  The story really is a lot more complicated than that.  But it was his sister who sent the text.  He did tell me he loves me for the first time ever.  He did say he has to do everything in his power to keep me.

Six years ago all I wanted was to be with him.  Four years ago all I wanted was to be with him.  But honestly, we would have crashed and burned.  Now, we’ve been talking for four months about what would happen if we dated.  The word “marriage” was loosely thrown out there sometime in the last week while I was sick.  Today the ring question.

I’m just saying.  I’M FREAKED OUT A BIT!  I’m not sure who I can talk to about this.  The people I would call are… well… in the group text about the ring.  If this is what is happening, they all know.  So here I am… typing… processing… I am fairly certain the only appropriate answer is “yes.”  I really don’t know how everything will work out.  But if we both jump in wanting it to, then it’s about damn time.  13 years since we first said hello.

Maybe I’m just stringing together random occurrences that I want to be linked together.  Some people say there are no coincidences.  But may this time it is.  I really don’t know.

Did I mention he asked me to go to dinner on Valentine’s Day and I said no (because it’s Valentine’s Day)… so we’re going the day after on the 15th.  He asked that yesterday… and then said he made a reservation.  But I don’t know where.

 

Leave a Reply

