UNBELIEVABLE Things People Say/Do/Expect

Out of the blue he texts on Thursday and says, “I’m in town for a few days if you want to get together.”

Well that’s nice, but I was at work until 7 pm and had plans to make an 8 hour drive early the following morning… so no.  No, I don’t have time to squeeze you into my schedule.

Just a few minutes ago he texts, “I’m selling/giving away my stuff.  Would you like to take a look?  There are stuff that you gave me that I don’t want to sell nor give away but I also can’t take… I’m thinking of giving them back.”

I don’t even know what to say to that.  “Makes me feel good to know I wasted my time making things for you and my money.”  Or maybe I could say, “Of course I want them back!  I want to keep them so I can remember how much of a mistake I made by wasting my time pretending like you cared about me.”

I mean seriously… Why would you ask me that?

A couple months ago the head volleyball coach – the same one that said I couldn’t coach freshman anymore because her team was going somewhere and I wasn’t the person who could help them get there – she comes up to me and asks, “Do you still have that coaches shirt we bought last year?  Can I buy it back from you?  I want to give it to my new coach. I’ll give you your $10 back.”

WHAT?  Woman, are you for real?  Who asks that?  Who does that?

Then last year, when this guy I used to date but hadn’t hung out with in a while said, “I have something for you.  You wanna hang out?”  He brought me a letter I had written to him 5 or 6 years prior.  Who returns something like that?  Who gives such things back?

UN-BE-LIEVE-ABLE!  What am I supposed to feel or do in these situations?  They make me feel so awkward, un-liked, and disrespected.  Are these kinds of things socially customary?  Am I the weird one for feeling offended by them?  Is there some common, social response I’m supposed to give that I don’t know about?

 

Leave a Reply

